“Now Texas Woman” Korean Legion, aiming for ‘Major Queen’ on the new course

The ‘Lady of the Lake’ ceremony, in which the winner throws herself into the water next to the green of the 18th hole, disappeared into history after last year. She moved her place this year and she crowned the new course queen.

The Chevron Championship (total prize money of 5.1 million dollars), the first major tournament of the LPGA tour season, will be held at The Club at Carleton Woods (par 72) in Woodlands, Texas, for four days from the 20th (Korean time). This tournament was held in Mission Hills CC, California, USA for 40 years from 1983 when it was promoted to major until last year. Starting this year, instead of the Lady of the Lake, she is covering the Lady of Texas.

In the Korean Legion, Jeon In-ji, who recently lifted a major trophy, stands out. He capped the KPMG Women’s PGA Championship in June of last year, filling three of her four LPGA career victories with her major wins. She won the US Women’s Open in 2015, the Evian Championship in 2016, and the Women’s PGA Championship. In women’s golf, winning four out of five majors is recognized as a Grand Slam.온라인바카라

World No. 3 Ko Jin-young is also a strong candidate for the championship. Ko Jin-young broke the Korean player’s 18-match winless chain at the HSBC Women’s World Championship in March, reporting her first win of the season. In 2019, he also won the Chevron Championship held under the name of ANA Inspiration. Ko Jin-young, who won two majors in the same year, including the Evian Championship, is challenging to win a major championship after a four-year hiatus. There is also Kim Hyo-joo, who finished in the top 10 in all of his first 3 events this season. 16 Korean players, including Choi Hye-jin, Yoo Hae-ran, Kim Se-young, Yoo So-yeon, Ji Eun-hee, and Park Seong-hyun, will scramble for the top spot.

World No. 1 Lydia Ko (New Zealand), No. 2 Nellie Koda (USA), No. 4 Ataya Titikkun (Thailand), and No. 5 Lee Min-ji (Australia) are strong players who will compete with the Korean Legion for the championship. They skipped the Hawaii Lotte Championships last week to prepare for this competition. Grace Kim (Australia), a Korean player who won the ticket to the last train of the tournament by winning the Lotte Championship, will challenge for two weeks in a row.

Including defending champion Jennifer Cupcho (USA), Jeon In-ji, Lee Min-ji (US Women’s Open), Canada’s Brook Henderson (Evian Championship), and South Africa’s Ashley Buhai (AIG Women’s Open), all the winners of last year’s majors will participate.

The biggest variable is the changed course. Opened in 2001, The Club at Carleton Woods hosts its first LPGA event this year. It is the 3rd best new course in the United States in 2014 selected by the American golf media, and is included in the top 18 courses designed by Jack Nicklaus. It looks comfortable from the teeing area, but the landing point of the tee shot is tilted toward the water or forest, requiring attention, and the green slope is complicated, making it difficult to read the putt line.

Related Posts

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *